Lillie Fink

~My Class Blog~

~Books Galore Promotional Brochure~

on September 30, 2013

To create a tri-fold promotional brochure for ‘Books Galore’ I opened two different documents in Photoshop, one for the front and one for the back. I set the Width at 11 inches and the Height at 8.5 inches.

~On the Front of the brochure I posted the name of the store, as well as the design, and slogan.

With the Type tool I typed ‘Books Galore’ at the top of the document. I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 28 points, and the Color to bright red (H: 354 degrees, S: 100%, B: 99%).

I clicked on the FX icon and selected Stroke to bring up the Layer Style dialog box. I changed the Stroke Size to 4 points, the Position to Outside, and the Color to dark brown (H: 0 degrees, S: 63%, B: 22%).

I clicked on Drop Shadow and changed the Color to dark red (H: 0 degrees, S: 94%, B: 71%). I changed the Opacity value to 100%, the Angle to 95 degrees, the Distance to 5 points, the Spread to 17%, and the Size to 5 points.

To spice up the text I converted it to a smart object and gave it a full-color dot drawing effect using the techniques I learned in Deke’s Techniques training videos, ‘239 Turning a portrait into a dot drawing’, and ‘240 Creating a full-color dot drawing’.

I found a silhouette of a kid reading a book online and placed it below the ‘books galore’ text. I Alt-dragged in order to create a copy and placed it at the opposite side and flipped it horizontally.

I found another image of a single book online and created a vertical line of books underneath the images. I flipped every other one to give it the effect that the books were falling. I made another bigger copy at the bottom of the page and typed out the slogan ‘Your Place to Discover’. I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Color to white, and the Size to 16 points.

I made a new text layer called ‘Your Place to Discover’.  I changed the Size to 6 points, the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Color to black, and placed it between the two images of the kid reading.

~On the Back of the brochure I placed the return label for the envelope I made

~On the Front Inside of the brochure I typed out the days of the week and they hours they were open as well as all the business information (Manager, Manger’s website, Business Website, Address, Phone). All the text was set to ‘Apple Chancery’.

At the top I typed ‘Books Galore’ in 18- point font. I changed the Color to a dark red (H: 354 degrees, S: 94%, B: 71%). Below that I typed out the website ‘www. BooksGalore. com’ in 16- point font. I changed the Color to bright red (H: 354 degrees, S: 100%, B: 99%).

Below that information I typed out ‘Stephen Taylor, Manager’ in 18- point font. I changed the Color to a dark red. Below that I typed out his website ‘Stephen@BooksGalore.com’ in 16- point font. I changed the Color to bright red.

Next I typed out the phone number in 16-point and dark red. Below that I typed out the address in 16-point and bright red.

I created a horizontal line of books separating the business information and the days and business hours.

I typed out the days and the business hours in 16- point, alternating between dark red and bright red.

~ For the Inside Left I added the names of the authors that ‘Books Galore’ will be having for a book signing, as well as their pictures, and the dates they’re scheduled to be there.

I typed ‘Author of the Month’ at the top of the document and changed the Style to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Color to dark red, and the Size to 18 points.

The authors I chose were some of my favorites:

  • Rick Riordan
  • J.K. Rowling
  • Joanne Fluke

~For the Inside Middle I created a coupon for the 20% discount for adults sixty-five and older who come the first day of every month.

At the top of the document I typed ‘20% Discount for our customers 65 and over!’ I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 18 points, and the Color to bright red (H: 354 degrees, S: 100%, B: 99%).

I found a picture of senior citizens online and placed them below the text.

Below that I typed ‘For our customers 65 and older, please come visit us the first day of every month in order to take advantage of our 20% Discount’. I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 16 points, and the Color to black.

Underneath I typed ‘Please tear this coupon out and bring it in for us to punch to receive a 20% Discount.’ I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 10 points, and the Color to bright red.

With the Vertical Type tool I typed out the first day that ‘Books Galore’ was open every month from October-January. I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 18 points, and I alternated between bright red (H: 354 degrees, S: 100%, B: 99%) and dark red (H: 0 degrees, S: 94%, B: 71%).

~On the Inside Right I typed out a menu for ‘The Coffee Corner’. I typed ‘The Coffee Corner’ at the top of the document. I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 24 points, and the Color to dark red.

Below that I typed ‘Need a break? Stop by and try our decadent delights’. I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 12 points, and the color to bright red.

I found several different recipes online and have added them to my brochure as well as prices. I changed the Font to ‘Apple Chancery’, the Size to 12 points, and alternated between bright red and dark red.

(While Books Galore is a real business I am using it and all the information for creative purposes only. This is a mock business that I’m using for a project in school. I’ve added links to the websites where you can find the recipes that I’ve listed in my brochure).

Front (Front Cover)

Back (Back Cover)

One response to “~Books Galore Promotional Brochure~

  1. tfrascht says:

    Looks nice. A different font may be easier to read for some people.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

